Nestlé Chairman receives honorary degree

Mar 2, 2012
Peter Brabeck-Letmathe LEADERSHIP: Peter Brabeck-Letmathe speaking at the University of Alberta

Nestlé Chairman Peter Brabeck-Letmathe has received an Honorary Degree of Doctor of Laws from the University of Alberta in Canada.

Mr Brabeck-Letmathe received the honour for his leadership in driving dialogue and policy changes in the area of water resource management.

The university said the award recognised Mr Brabeck-Letmathe’s “decision to use his exceptional position within the global corporate sector to engage government and business leaders on the critical issues of water resource scarcity and security.”

Vocal advocate

An active and vocal advocate for better management of water resources, Mr Brabeck-Letmathe has highlighted global water issues for business and governments around the world.

As well as being a member of the Foundation Board of the World Economic Forum, he co-authored the 2030 Water Resources Group report 'Charting our Water Future'.

“I personally will continue to invest all my available time and energy to help find pragmatic solutions to the problem which I consider mankind’s most pressing: the global water crisis,” said Mr Brabeck-Letmathe on accepting the award.

“It is in this context that I am proud and thankful to be the recipient of the highest honour of the distinguished University of Alberta.”

Nestlé “part of the solution”

In an earlier speech to the Edmonton School of Business in Alberta, Mr Brabeck reiterated Nestlé’s standpoint on water.

“You may think that this is mainly about the action of others, but Nestlé has been, and will be, part of the solution,” he said.

The University of Alberta has historically awarded honorary degrees to people across the world whose accomplishments it believes have had a major impact on a diversity of professions and areas of expertise, as well as society as a whole.

Other recipients

Mr Brabeck was one of three candidates to receive an Honorary Degree from the university this year.

He was awarded alongside Steve Hrudey, Professor Emeritus in Analytical and Environmental Toxicology at the University of Alberta, and Sunita Narain, a writer and environmentalist from the Centre for Science and Environment in New Delhi, India.