Titia de Lange

Board of Directors
Elected to the Board 2010

Date of birth: 1955
Nationality: Dutch

  • 2006 Associate Director, Anderson Cancer Center, The Rockefeller University
  • 1999 Leon Hess Professor, The Rockefeller University
  • 1997 Professor, The Rockefeller University
  • 1994 - 1997 Associate Professor, The Rockefeller University
  • 1990 - 1994 Assistant Professor, The Rockefeller University
  • 1985 - 1990 Postdoctoral fellow with Harold E. Varmus at UCSF
  • 1981 Ph.D. Biochemistry, cum laude. Univ. of Amsterdam and The Netherlands Cancer Institute, Amsterdam. Ph.D. thesis: Activation and transcription of surface antigen genes in trypanosomes. Advisor: Piet Borst
  • 1981 Doctoraal examen, highest honors. U. Amsterdam and NIMR, Mill Hill, UK. Doctoral thesis: Chromatin structure of the human ß-globin gene locus. Advisor: Richard A. Flavell
  • Advisory Council, Dep. Mol. Biology, Princeton University
  • Biomedical Scientific Advisory Board, Vanderbilt University
  • Scientific Advisory Board, The Netherlands Cancer Institute
  • External Advisory Committee for the Endowed Scholars Program in Biomedical Sciences at UT Southwestern Medical School at Dallas
  • Scientific Advisory Committee, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research
  • Board of Scientific Consultants of Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
  • Executive Committee, American-Italian Cancer Foundation
Honors and awards
  • 2010 American Cancer Society Research Professor
  • 2008 Third Annual Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center Prize
  • 2007 Elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • 2007 Elected Fellow of the American Academy for Arts and Sciences
  • 2006 Elected Fellow of the American Society for Microbiology
  • 2006 Elected Foreign Associate of the National Academy of Sciences, USA
  • 2005 NIH Director Pioneer Award
  • 2005 Elected Fellow of the New York Academy of Sciences
  • 2005 Reginal Harris Lecturer. CSH Symp. Quant. Biol.
  • 2005 NIH MERIT award (GM)
  • 2004 AACR Charlotte Friend Memorial Lecture Awardee
  • 2003 Honorary Degree, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands
  • 2001 Paul Marks Award (shared with S. Elledge, W. Kaelin, and X. Wang)
  • 2001 Elected Foreign Member of the European Molecular Biology Organization
  • 2000 Elected Member and Correspondent of the Royal Dutch Academy of Sciences
  • 2000 - 2001 President of the Harvey Society
  • 2000 - 2004 Ellison Medical Foundation Senior Scholar Award
  • 1995 - 2000 Rita Allen Award