Date: April 11, 2013
Place: Lausanne
Number of shareholders attending: 2998
% representing capital 49.78%
% representing shares entitled to vote: 70.64%


The annual report and the accounts were approved and the shareholders agreed to the release of the Board of Directors and the Management. The Nestlé Compensation Report was accepted in a separate advisory vote, in line with the Swiss Code of Best Practice for Corporate Governance. The shareholders further approved the proposed dividend of CHF 2.05 per share. All proposals of the Board of Directors were approved with strong majorities.

Shareholders re-elected Mr Peter Brabeck-Letmathe, Mr Steven G. Hoch, Ms Titia de Lange and Mr Jean-Pierre Roth to the Board, each for a further term of three years, and elected Ms Eva Cheng as a new member of the Board for a three-year term. Ms Cheng is the former Corporate Executive Vice President responsible for Greater China and Southeast Asia Region of Amway Corporation, a U.S. based global consumer product company. Mr André Kudelski who had reached the end of his third term was not standing for re-election. The Board thanked him for his highly appreciated services provided to Nestlé over the past twelve years.

At the meeting, Nestlé Chairman Peter Brabeck-Letmathe highlighted Nestlé’s commitment to Switzerland: “Nestlé’s production in Switzerland accounts for roughly 5% of global turnover, of which nearly 80% is exported. Of our 339,000 employees worldwide, more than 10,000 are employed in Switzerland. This modest share should not belittle the fact that over the last ten years, we have created 3,500 jobs in Switzerland, at a time when employment in the food industry has been stagnant. We have invested significantly here in this country, more than CHF 3.2 billion over the last ten years. More than 60% of our worldwide R&D expenditure is in Switzerland.”

Video of the Chairman's address (extract)


Invitation to the Annual General Meeting (pdf, 783 Kb)

Invitation à l'Assemblée générale (pdf, 785 Kb)

Einladung zur Generalversammlung (pdf, 786 Kb)


Read the Chairman and CEO addresses.


Board of Directors

All our biographies can be viewed in the Board of Directors section of the website.

  • Elected: Ms Eva Cheng
  • Re-elected: Mr Peter Brabeck-Letmathe, Mr Steven G. Hoch, Ms Titia de Lange and Mr Jean-Pierre Roth


Summary of voting results

Annual General Meeting 2013 summary voting results (pdf, 80 Kb)

Summary minutes of the AGM

Annual General Meeting 2013 summary minutes (pdf, 93 Kb)
Procès-verbal résumé de l’Assemblée Générale 2013 (pdf, 85 Kb)
Kurzprotokoll der Generalversammlung 2013 (pdf, 86 Kb)


Related information



For any queries regarding the Annual General Meeting please contact:

Share Transfer Office of Nestlé S.A.
P.O. Box 380
CH-6330 Cham
Phone: +41 41 785 2020
Fax: +41 41 785 2024
Email: shareregister@nestle.com