Sort by
Sort by

Lindiwe Majele Sibanda

Lindiwe Majele Sibanda

Sustainability Committee

Elected to the Board 2021

Date of birth: 1963
Nationality: Zimbabwean



  • 2020 – present Director and Chairwoman, African Research Universities Alliance Centre of Excellence in Sustainable Food Systems (ARUA-SFS), University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • 2018 – present Professor and Senior Research Fellow at the Centre for the Advancement of Scholarship (CAS), University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • 2018 – present Founder and Managing Director, Linds Agricultural Services Pvt Ltd., Harare, Zimbabwe
  • 2017 – 2018 Vice President, Country Support, Policy and Partnerships, Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA), Nairobi, Kenya
  • 2004 – 2017 Chief Executive Officer and Head of Diplomatic Mission, Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Analysis Network (FANRPAN), South Africa
  • 2002 – 2003 Coordinator Regional Public Policy Program, Initiative for Development and Equity in African Agriculture (IDEAA) W.K. Kellogg Foundation, Southern Africa
  • 1996 – 2002 Founder and Managing Director, Linds Agricultural Services Pvt Ltd., Harare, Zimbabwe
  • 1994 – 1996 Agriculture and Rural Development Specialist, Macpherson Consulting Group, Harare, Zimbabwe
  • 1992 – 1994 Lecturer, Department of Animal Physiology in the Faculty of Veterinary Sciences, University of Zimbabwe, Harare, Zimbabwe
  • 1989 – 1991 Research Fellow, Department of Animal Science, Faculty of Agriculture



  • 1992 PhD. Agriculture/Animal Physiology, University of Reading, UK
  • 1988 Master of Science Degree in Agriculture/Grassland Science, University of Reading, UK
  • 1986 Bachelor of Science Degree in Agriculture, University of Alexandria, Egypt


Awards and honors

  • 2015 Science Diplomacy Award by the Government of the Republic of South Africa
  • 2014 Forum for Agricultural Research in Africa (FARA) Award for "Exemplary leadership and contributions to the agricultural development agenda in Africa"
  • 2013 YARA Prize (now: Africa Food Prize) for contributions to African agriculture specifically on the youth paying attention to innovation and entrepreneurship
  • 2013 Food Tank recognition as one of seven women working to change the food system in honor of International Women's Day
  • 2012 Nominated as a Global citizen and recognized as someone who identifies with being part of an emerging world community, and whose actions contribute to building this community's values and practices



  • Serving member, Champions UN SDG 12.3, accelerating progress towards halving food loss and waste by 2030
  • Member of the Presidential Advisory Council for agriculture in Zimbabwe
  • Chairwoman of Council for the National University of Science and Technology (NUST)
  • Deputy Chairwoman of the Iam4Byo Fighting COVID-19 Trust responsible for communications, public relations and research coalition
  • Chairperson of the Integrated Partnership Board of CGIAR


Previous significant mandates

  • Co-Chairwoman of the Global Alliance for Climate Smart Agriculture (GACSA), Rome, Italy
  • Board Member and Chairwoman of the nominations committee, World Vegetable Board
  • Advisory Board Member of Infinite Foods
  • Expert Panel Member of the Cornell University – Nature Sustainability panel on "Innovations to build sustainable, equitable, inclusive food value chains"
  • International Advisory Panel Member, Regional Universities Forum for Capacity Building in Agriculture (RUFORUM)
  • Advisory Board Member of the Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe
  • Consultative Group for International Agriculture Research Centers (CGIAR)
  • Chairwoman of the Board of Trustees for the International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI)
  • Board Member of the Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT)
  • Member of the Independent Science Panel of the Climate Change Agriculture and Food Security Program (CCAFS)
  • Member of the Research programme on Water, Land and Ecosystems (WLE) Steering Committee, International Water Management Institute (IWMI)
  • Co-Chairwoman of the African Growth and Development Policy (AGRODEP)
  • Member of the Australian Policy Advisory Council (ACIAR)
  • Member of the United Nations Economic and Social Council Committee for Development Policy
  • Commissioner of the EAT LANCET Commission on healthy diets from sustainable food systems
  • Member of the African Union Commission Leadership Council representing African CSOs
  • Member of the Women's Great Lakes Platform (WGLP) in support of the Peace, Security and Cooperation Framework for the Democratic of Congo and the Region
  • Member of the Chicago Council on Global Affairs Advisory Group
  • Member of the Global Soil Forum Steering Committee
  • Expert Advisory Group Member for the Agricultural Pull Mechanism (AGPM) Initiative hosted by the World Bank (Secretariat) reporting to G20 donors
  • Jury Member for the One Million USD Curt Bergfors 2020 Food Planet Prize
  • Panel Member of the Nelson Mandela HIV and AIDS Hyper-endemic Pillar of aids2031, South Africa