The Nestlé Creating Shared Value Prize

The Nestlé Creating Shared Value Prize is awarded by the Nestlé CSV Council every two years. The competition helps scale up or replicate business-oriented initiatives that address challenges in nutrition, water or rural development. It’s open to social and private enterprises, as well as non-governmental organisations (NGOs).

About the CSV Prize

We established the CSV Prize to reward initiatives that reflect the spirit of Creating Shared Value. We look for innovative projects, programmes or businesses that have already been tested either as a pilot study or at a small scale; that demonstrate positive social and environmental impact; and that need support to become commercially viable.

We invest financial and technical resources in the winning initiatives, to help them expand and achieve financial sustainability. The winners share CHF 500'000 in prize money.

The 2018 CSV Prize

In celebration of 10 years of Creating Shared Value, Nestlé has partnered with Ashoka, the world’s leading network of systems-changing social entrepreneurs, to search for, support and accelerate solutions tackling the biggest issues in water, nutrition and rural development.

For 2018, the Prize package includes a cash prize of up to CHF 400'000, a pitch opportunity at the World Water Forum in Brasil in 2018, and a prestigious Ashoka Fellowship.

Over 1'000 projects have been submitted during the application period. We thank all participants for their valuable contributions.

Explore the shortlist of the top projects.

Please see the official rules (pdf, 250 Kb)

Any further questions concerning the 2018 CSV Prize? Contact us via

The 2016 winners

We received 450 entries for the CSV Prize in 2016, the fourth time we’ve made such an award. Applications were thoroughly screened by external and internal experts, and the CSV Council. The winner and runner-up were announced at the CSV Forum in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire, in June 2016.

Find out more about these organisations and the previous winners and runners-up of the CSV Prize.

Related content